(Clockwise from top: Universal Pictures’ “Pitch Perfect 3,” USA’s “Mr. Robot,” Focus Features’ “Darkest Hour,” and NBC’s “Chicago P.D.” were recognized at the 2017 Environmental Media Awards)

NBCUniversal had a record-setting year at the 27th Annual Environmental Media Awards, continuing to demonstrate its leadership in sustainable production.

EMA Green and Gold Seals were awarded to thirty-five NBCUniversal television and feature film productions, recognizing progress in sustainable production practices. This is the third year in a row NBCUniversal has received the most EMA Green Seals of any producing studio. Twelve of the acknowledgments were EMA Gold Seals, recognizing the top performing productions based on a new comprehensive sustainable production scorecard.

Below is a complete list of the NBCUniversal 2017 EMA Green and Gold Seal recipients. Check out the Green is Universal Film and TV pages to learn how NBCUniversal’s filmmakers and crewmembers are reducing their environmental impact.

  • Universal Pictures: Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom* and Pitch Perfect 3
  • Focus Features: Darkest Hour, The Beguiled, and Victoria & Abdul
  • Universal Television: Bates Motel, Brooklyn Nine-Nine*, Chicago Fire, Chicago Justice*, Chicago Med, Chicago P.D.*, Gone, Great News, Grimm*, Gypsy, Law & Order: SVU, Marlon, Master of None*, Midnight Texas, Pure Genius, Shades of Blue*, Superstore, The Bold Type, The Good Place, Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt*
  • Universal Cable Productions: 12 Monkeys*, Channel Zero: No End House, Girlfriends’ Guide to Divorce*, Mr. Robot*, Playing House, Psych: The Movie, Suits, The Arrangement, The Magicians*, and The Sinner

*EMA Gold Seal winners

In addition, The Path was recognized for its environmental messaging on screen. It was one of four shows to be nominated for an EMA Award in the Television Episodic Drama Category. The episode “The Father and The Son”, written by Julia Brownell and directed by Michael Slovis, tackled the important issue of water quality. The Path is produced by Universal Television and distributed by Hulu.


(The award ceremony was hosted by Jaden Smith, an EMA board member. Natalie Portman and Russell Simmons were among the recipients of awards for their commitment to environmental activism. | Photo credit to Environmental Media Association)